This photograph from the railway embankment overlooking Preston barracks shows the Bernard Oppenheimer Diamond Works on the left and the recently built extension south of Coombe Road. The hill seems strangely devoid of houses. At the time of the photograph, 1922, there were no houses in Coombe Road, above Ewehurst road, while Mafeking Road could boast of only 6 houses, 12 to 22. There were large gaps in the houses of Kimberly Road, which were filled in during 1927/1928. As can be seen a long stretch of Milner Road was also open land.

Image Reference: JG_28_100.tif
Date: 1922
Image Details: Copy
Size of Original: 204x155
Place: Brighton
Additional Information: No comment

The digitisation of this Volume was sponsored by The Regency Society
This image is copyright and is made available for personal study only. Commercial reproduction in any media is prohibited without written authorisation.
High resolution images for commercial use are available. Please contact The Regency Society